Good Morning Sunshine

Adding love and beauty to my life

Adding love and beauty to my life

On July 4th, 2013 another beautiful addition to my life entered this world. I have few friends that I can truly call family and both are officially mothers to gorgeous children. Nolan Matthew is my first Friend Nephew and I couldn’t be more excited to have another little life to spoil!!

NolanMatthew2

This little man came with some very interesting emotions for me (yes this post is going to be slightly selfish). First of all, my longest standing friends from High School are both now mothers… and then there is me. I am in love with their children. I could not be happier for them and their beautiful families. But I can’t help but feel like I lost a connection with them. I am no longer going to have the same conversations or gossip sessions or any and all of the above. Every time you complain about being tired “yea, well try having a kid”. Every time you bring up any kind of pain “Yea, well try giving birth”. And the list goes on.

Please do not misunderstand me. I do not hold the change in communication against my friends, I do not look down on them, I do not look at them any differently in any way. I honestly have more love in my heart for these two beautiful people than I ever thought I could. But man… it sure does put a little damper on your own personal time clock. Not to mention how aggressive they become about me having a kid soon to “catch up”.

I guess my point is simply this. If you do not have children, please be sensitive to the conversations you have with your mother friends. It can be accidentally inconsiderate to complain about the small things. But also, if you have children, please be cognizant about the fact that your “single friends” may be just as hurt by some of the mother statements that you find to be every day jargon.

Just some food for thought…

Leave a Reply

