Where Words Fail, Music Speaks

What’s the greatest chapter in your book? Are there pages where it hurts to look? What’s the one regret you can’t work through? You got it baby, mine would be you, Yeah you got it baby, mine would be you. Mine would be you- Taillights fading- Daylight breaking- Standing there like a fool- When I should’ve been running- Yellin’ out something- To make you wanna hold on to- The best love ever- Can you tell me the one thing you’d rather die than lose? Cause mine would be you. Mine would be you, you. Blake Shelton- Mine Would Be You

Small regrets that live in the dark. I’ve written them down but I know them by heart. Counted the cost of this loneliness. I’ve paid for my crime and some day I’ll die with you in my mind. And I’m falling down, like its holy ground. I’m looking for you again, I’m looking for you again. The Lone Bellow- Looking For You

If I never loved you, if I never felt your kiss. If I never had you. I know that I… I still would have mourned you. I would have missed your smile. If it wasn’t so worth it, this wouldn’t be… oh, this wouldn’t be the bad before the worse and the storm before the storm. I haven’t even hit the bottom of this ocean floor. This is the bend before the break. This is the mercy not the grace. This is the proof and not the faith I try to find. There shouldn’t be a good in goodbye. Jason Walker- Shouldn’t Be A Good In Goodbye

I don’t want to talk about it to you, I’m not an open book that you can rifle through. The cold hard truth that you’ll see right to, I’m just a basket case without you. He’s not a magic man or a perfect fit, but had a steady hand and I got used to it. And a glass cage heart and invited me in. And now I’m just a basket case without him. You’re begging for the truth, so I’m saying it to you, I’ve been saving your place, and what good does it do? Now I’m just a basket case. Now I’m just a basket case.  I don’t say much and it’ll stay that way. You got a steel train touch and I’m just a track you lay. So I’ll stay right here underneath you, I’m just a basket case and that’s what we do. Won’t somebody come on in and tug at my seams? Oh, send your armies in of robbers and thieves to steal the state I’m in I don’t want it anymore. Sara Bareilles- Basket Case

I think you took my heart away when you said you’re leaving, Cause’ right now I am hurting all over again. And I never thought that I’d be in these places on this day. And now I don’t know how much more that I can take. I’m breaking at the cracks and everything goes black. It’s another heart attack. And I can’t handle that… Love I need you back. I know that I’ll get through this, the feeling is stronger somehow. I got my feet back on the ground and I’m turning around. And I’ll be everything you always said that I could be. If only you’ll be waiting right here for me patiently. Oh whenever would I take you back, my heart was filled with love. And I wipe these tears and I will laugh. If only I could make it last. Colbie Caillat- Breaking At The Cracks

See I thought love was black and white. That it was wrong or it was right. But you ain’t leaving without a fight and I think I am just as torn inside. ‘Cos I don’t know who I am, who I am without you. All I know is that I should. And I don’t know if I could stand another hand upon you. All I know is that I should. ‘Cos she will love you more than I could. She who dares to stand where I stood. And I won’t be far from where you are if ever you should call. You meant more to me than anyone I ever loved at all. But you taught me how to trust myself and so I say to you, this is what I have to do. Missy Higgins- Where I Stood

2am; where do I begin… Crying off my face again. The silent sound of loneliness wants to follow me to bed. I’m a ghost of a girl that I  want to be most. I’m the shell of a girl that I used to know well. Dancing slowly in an empty room, can the lonely take the place of you? I sing myself a quiet lullaby. Let you go and let the lonely in to take my heart again. Too afraid to go inside for the pain of one more loveless night. But the loneliness will stay with me and hold me til I fall asleep. Broken pieces of a barely breathing story where there once was love. Now there’s only me and the lonely. Christina Perri- The Lonely

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

