The Way I Look At Me

I finally caught your eye yesterday… I know you saw me. All black Johnny Cash outfit at the gym. I could feel your stare my entire workout. Every weight I lifted I could see your eyes trailing over every curve of my arm, to my shoulder, along the outline, down the slope of my hip and back again, analyzing. I could sense the judgement in your look, but there was an overall acceptance of progress and drive. You were accepting of the fact that I was there, a female taking up free weight space.

Surprisingly, unlike the recent past, I wasn’t as self conscious as I had been on other gym days. Even though I knew you were laughing at my facial expressions when I struggled to put up the last few reps. I know you noticed the extra weight around my middle, not as prominent as it has been, but there. The shorts I had on made an extra roll I wasn’t particularly fond of. But yea I get it, I don’t have a six pack yet, but stand by, it’s coming! I know you watched as I moved from machine to weights, move to move, struggle to struggle. You never took your eyes off me.

Finally, during the rest on my last set of the hour you spoke.

“You are looking good, I like how far you’ve come. Yea, you have some goals to hit still, but you have got this. You look better to me than you have in a long time.”

“Thank you”, I said to myself, “Thank you for realizing what you have accomplished, what you are capable of and what you know you are about to discover about your abilities. You have a long way to go, but you are finally happy looking in the mirror”.

Sometimes, you need to check yourself out at the gym and remind yourself you only have one body and you should love every muscle, every fat roll, every scar and say “Damn self, you are looking good!”

Give yourself a pep talk today!

 

Leave a Reply

