Happiness for Granted

If you are like me, it takes a lot of effort and energy to let yourself be happy. When you have been holding on to an impossible idea of happiness, you really lose sight of things in your current life that are bringing so much joy to the world. If I stopped to look myself in the mirror to count my blessings, I would have an overabundance in comparison to the things that I would choose to change about my life. When I recognize that… I feel ashamed for all the times I felt sorry for myself or thought “oh woe is me”. My life, in comparison to some, has been a pretty tough go, I’ve lost a lot of important people in my life, I am not from a rich family, I wasn’t blessed with incredible talents worthy of finding fame over. I have had a really VERY shitty string of luck in the boyfriend department.

But as I sit on my couch looking at the walls of MY house, laughing along with a plethora of friends that stopped by for dinner and game night, I realize that on so many occasions we (especially me) can take the immediate moments of happiness for granted. I was able to buy my own house, I have several very good friends and a loving boyfriend, my family that’s left is healthy and kicking, my job is amazing. These are all happy things that are in the now!

I encourage you today, if you haven’t already, stop worrying about the future. Stop worrying about when you maybe might possibly get married or have kids. Stop worrying about whether or not the next paycheck will be bigger or even big enough. Instead, take the moment to soak in everything that is right and wonderful and thank God for those pieces of life that are blessing you in this moment.

Don’t take your happiness for granted.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

